Jokowi Immediately Appoints the Head of the IKN Authority, Who is the Candidate?

The government’s plan to move the nation’s capital to East Kalimantan is likely to be realized soon after the IKN Bill is passed into law by the DPR. After being ratified, the IKN Law will be used as a reference for making derivative regulations regarding the relocation of the capital city.

In Article 9 of the IKN Law which has just been passed, it is regulated that the new state capital, named IKN Nusantara, will not be led by the Governor but by the Head of the Authority. The following reads Article 9:

(1) The IKN Nusantara Authority is led by the Head of the IKN Nusantara Authority and assisted by a Deputy Head of the IKN Nusantara Authority who is appointed, appointed, and dismissed directly by the President after consulting with the DPR.

(2) The inauguration of the Head of the Archipelago IKN Authority and the Deputy Head of the Nusantara IKN Authority as referred to in paragraph (1) is carried out by the President.

In Article 10, the Head of the Nusantara IKN Authority and the Deputy Head of the Nusantara IKN Authority are appointed and appointed by the President no later than 2 months after the IKN Law was enacted by Menkumham Yasonna Laoly.

Minister of National Development Planning/Head of Bappenas Suharso Monoarfa gave a speech at the 2021 Government Work Plan Preparation Kick Off at the Bappenas Office, Jakarta. Photo: Fanny Kusumawardhani/kumparan

The Head of the IKN Authority is a ministerial-level position that is elected and can be removed from time to time by the President.

Regarding who the candidate for the Head of Authority is, the Head of Bappenas, Suharso Monoarfa, leaves it entirely to President Jokowi. He believes Jokowi will choose the best candidate.

“Regarding who (the Head of the Authority) who will be appointed is in his pocket, I don’t know, of course the choice is the right person,” said Suharso at the DPR Building, Senayan, Tuesday (18/1).

Then, who are the names that are said to be included in the Head of Authority exchange?

Basuki T Purnama visited the Dockyard of PT. Pertamina Trans Kontinental during a working visit to Sorong, West Papua, Monday (25/10/2021). Photo: Instagram/@basukibtp
President Jokowi had mentioned a number of names as candidates for the Head of the IKN Authority, namely Basuki Tjahja Purnama, Bambang Brodjonegoro to Azwar Anas.

“There are indeed many candidates for [Head of Authority]. One Mr. Bambang Brodjonegoro, two Mr. Ahok, three Mr. Tumiono, four Mr. Azwar Anas. Enough,” said Jokowi at the State Palace, March 2, 2020.

Ahok is currently still active as the President Commissioner of PT Pertamina (Persero). Prior to serving as Commissioner, Ahok served as Governor of DKI in 2014-2017. Ahok was then replaced by Djarot Saiful Hidayat because he was involved in a legal case.

Meanwhile, Bambang Brodjonegoro has served as Minister of Research and Technology. After leaving the ministerial position, Bambang currently serves as a commissioner in a number of companies such as the President Commissioner of PT Telkom Indonesia (Persero), Independent Commissioner of PT Astra International Tbk (ASII) to the Independent Commissioner of PT Indofood Sukses Makmur Tbk (INDF).

Meanwhile, Azwar Anas has a background in being the Regent of Banyuwangi Regency. Currently, the PDIP politician serves as the Head of the Government Goods/Services Procurement Policy Institute (LKPP).